MYRTLE BEACH (WBTW) – As coronavirus cases surge throughout the United States, new quarantine orders have been put in place around the country.
If you’re hitting the road for a getaway, be aware there might be restrictions if you leave or enter the state of South Carolina.
Chicago officials announced that effective July 6 travelers entering or returning to Chicago from states experiencing COVID-19 hot spots must quarantine for 14 days, including South Carolina.
On June 24, Connecticut, along with New York and New Jersey, required travelers from states with high rates of COVID-19 infection, including South Carolina, to self-quarantine for two weeks. The rule also applies to travelers from Florida, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, North Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington. (Fines can reach up to $10,000).
On June 29, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment said people who have traveled from or to South Carolina need to quarantine for 14 days after they arrive in the state.
Since March 27, all travelers arriving in Massachusetts have been instructed to self-quarantine for 14 days to help prevent the spread of the coronavirus.
On June 24, New Jersey, along with New York and Connecticut, required travelers from states with high rates of COVID-19 infection, including South Carolina, to self-quarantine for two weeks.
On June 1, an executive order from New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham mandates anyone who travels out of state and returns or comes into New Mexico is now required to self-quarantine for two weeks.
On June 24, New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut required travelers from states with high rates of COVID-19 infection to self-quarantine for two weeks. The rule applies to travelers from Florida, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Washington.
A person found violating the order could be fined $2,000 for the first violation, $5,000 for a second violation and $10,000 if the person causes “harm.”
Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf announced July 2 anyone who has recently traveled from the following states will need to quarantine for 14 days upon returning to Pennsylvania: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.
Effective since June 15, travelers arriving in Vermont must complete a 14-day quarantine in Vermont or, alternatively, complete a seven-day quarantine followed by a negative Covid-19 test.
What does quarantine mean?
- For COVID-19, the quarantine period is 14 days.
- If you are or a person in your house is subject to a quarantine requirement, those individuals must remain within their home, residence, or other such places where they are residing as much as possible to keep their distance from the others in the house.
- View an explanation of the differences between isolation and quarantine from SC DHEC at https://www.scdhec.gov/sites/default/files/Library/CR-012593.pdf