Primary Runoffs Results: Florence mayor, Horry Co. council, and more


Polls will open again Tuesday for local runoffs from the primaries held two weeks ago.

If you voted on June 9, you are limited to voting in the same party’s runoff. If you did not vote on June 9, you can choose to vote in either party’s runoff.

Here are the local runoffs:

City of Florence Mayor (Dem) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Teresa Myers Ervin (D) – 55.05%
George Jebaily (D) – 44.95%
More about the candidates here

Dillon County Sheriff (Dem) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Douglas “Humbunny” Pernell (D) – 60.24%
Tray Rogers (D) – 39.76%

Horry County Runoff Races

State Senate District 33 (Rep) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Luke Rankin (R / Inc.) – 58.41%
John Gallman (R) – 41.59%

Auditor (Rep) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Beth Calhoun (R) – 57.22%         
R A Johnson (R) – 42.78%

County Council District 9 (Rep) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Mark Causey (R) – 59.71%             
Terry Fowler (R) – 40.29%

Other county council

Dillon County Council District 1 (Dem) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Jamal Campbell (D) – 55.95%
James Washington (D) – 44.05%

Dillon County Council District 3 (Dem) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Detrice McCollum Dawkins (D) – 66.06%
Archie Scott (D / Inc.) – 33.94%

Marion County Council District 6 (Dem) – Precincts Reporting: 100%
Michael Hucks (D) – 46.35%
Robin Turner (D) – 53.65%

See the Voter’s Guide Here.

Horry County polling places

Horry County Voters Registration and Elections Office announced that every polling place has been designated as an extension absentee office for tomorrow’s runoff election. 

This means:
·     Any voter who has an absentee-by-mail ballot can return the ballot to any polling place in Horry County by 7 p.m.
·     Any voter that requested an absentee ballot, but did not receive it, can go to their designated polling place and cast a provisional ballot that will count as long as the absentee ballot is not returned.

Voters can find their polling place and get a list of all polling places in the county at For questions, call the Voters Registration and Elections Office at (843) 915-5440.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending stories