Both Florence City Council races set for runoff after tight Primary voting

Pee Dee

FLORENCE, SC (WBTW) – The primary for the upcoming Florence City Council special election resulted in two runoffs after no candidate in either district reached a majority of votes on Tuesday.

Two seats, District 1 and District 3, are open on city council. District 1 was vacated when Teresa Myers Ervin was elected mayor. District 3 was vacated when Buddy Brand got elected to Florence County Council.

Here are the unofficial results for the District 1 seat (runoff candidates in bold):

LaShonda NeSmith-Jackson – 236 votes (36.14%)
Jermaine C. Nowline – 44 votes (6.74%)
Darryl Witherspoon Mitchell – 91 votes (13.94%)
Joey McMillan – 194 votes (29.71%)
James ‘Big Man’ Kennedy – 88 votes (13.48%)

The two runoff candidates will face off on February 9. The winner of the District 1 seat will face Republican William Schofield on March 30.

Here are the unofficial results for the District 3 seat (runoff candidates in bold):

Glynn F. Willis – 234 votes (19.52%)
John Sweeney – 88 votes (7.34%)
Bryan Braddock – 595 votes (49.62%)
Robby Hill – 282 votes (23.52%)

Bryan Braddock was within just a few votes of obtaining a majority of votes and winning the election. Instead, he and Robby Hill will participate in a runoff on February 9.

The winner of the District Three seat will then likely win the city council seat because there is no Democrat running in the March 30 election.

Count on News13 for updates.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending stories