President Trump approves South Carolina disaster declaration

State - Regional

President Donald J. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence receive an emergency preparedness update call on the impact of Hurricane Florence on the east coast Saturday, Sept. 15, 2018, in the Treaty Room of the White House in Washington, D.C. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)

WASHINGTON, DC (WBTW) – President Donald Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the State of South Carolina and ordered Federal aid to supplement State, Tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Florence.

According to a press release from FEMA, the assistance will be available to State and to Tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures in the counties of Berkeley, Charleston, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg, and Williamsburg.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. Brock Long, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Elizabeth Turner as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Damage assessments are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending stories