MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. (WBTW) — University of South Carolina football coach Shane Beamer was selected as a co-winner of the Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach of the Year award.

Beamer shares the award with Tennessee head coach Josh Huepel, according to a release from the University of South Carolina.

The South Carolina Gamecocks finished with a 7-6 record, which is an improvement over last season, when the team finished with a 2-8 record.

“Well there are two coaches this year because they are both very deserving,” Spurrier said in the release. “Preseason, their teams were picked next to Vandy at the bottom of the league, 12 and 13, but instead of gloom and doom they took their players and improved every game and both finishes 7-6.”

Beamer is the second South Carolina coach to win the award. Spurrier won the award in 2005 in his first year as coach at South Carolina, according to the release.

The trophy will be presented Feb. 21 along with a reception at Spurrier’s Gridiron Grill in Gainsville, Florida.