CCU’s Grayson McCall named a Manning award finalist


NEW ORLEANS – Coastal Carolina redshirt freshman quarterback Grayson McCall was one of 12 finalists for The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl it was announced today.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton, and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

McCall has been superb in his first season as the starting quarterback for the nationally-ranked Chanticleers. He is among the nation’s leaders with 23 passing touchdowns and just two interceptions and leads the Sun Belt in passing efficiency at 185.9 on the season. He also leads the Sun Belt in total passing yards with 2,170 on the season and is second in completion percentage at 69.3 percent (151-of-218). He is also 10th in the Sun Belt with six rushing touchdowns and 14th in rushing with 473 rushing yards from his QB position. He has thrown for over 200 yards in seven of the 10 games he played in this season, missing one due to an injury, which includes a career-high 338 passing yards at Troy and 322 yards in the air versus Arkansas State. He has also tallied two passing touchdowns or more in eight games this season, including a career-high four touchdown tosses against Arkansas State and at Georgia State.

A key part of the highest-scoring offense in the Sun Belt all season long, McCall guided a Chants’ offense to 500-plus total yards of offense in four Sun Belt Conference games on the season and led CCU to a pair of wins over top 25 FBS programs, both of which were the first such wins in school history.

McCall is a three-time Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award’s Great 8 List selection, a three-time Manning Awards “Star of the Week” honoree, a three-time Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Week winner, a three-time FWAA “Fresh Four” selection, a Maxwell Award semifinalist, a Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award semifinalist, and was named to the FWAA Freshman All-American watch list.

The Chanticleers finished the regular season a perfect 11-0, the first-ever undefeated regular season in the program’s history, and the best-ever regular season by any team in the Sun Belt Conference’s history.

The finalists for this year’s Manning Award are:

 Name, School Cmp-Att Pct. Yards TDs INT QBR Rushing
Ian Book, Notre Dame181-286.6332,38215286.1465 yds, 8 TDs
Matt Corral, Ole Miss186-255.7292,74424990.5311 yds, 3 TDs
Justin Fields, Ohio State107-137.7811,40715394.8239 yds, 5 TDs
Dillon Gabriel, UCF227-368.6173,35330480.1138 yds, 2 TDs
Sam Howell, North Carolina219-317.6913,35227679.2121 yds, 5 TDs
Mac Jones, Alabama217-284.7643,32127396.0NA
Trevor Lawrence, Clemson173-250.6922,43120385.1121 yds, 6 TDs
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina151-218.6932,17023283.3473 yds, 6 TDs
Brock Purdy, Iowa State196-296.6622,27217678.5310 yds, 4 TDs
Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati143-215.6651,82116686.0526 yds, 11 TDs
Kyle Trask, Florida259-369.7023,71740590.350 yds, 2 TDs
Zach Wilson, BYU221-302.7323,26730387.2242 yds, 8 TDs

Courtesy – Coastal Carolina Athletics

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

NBA Stats

Trending stories